2016 Employee Awards

Honors and Goodbyes Offered at Employee Recognition Event

May 9, 2016
By: Guest Contributor

A large number of Worcester State University’s faculty and employees turned out for the 2016 Employee Service Recognition & Retirement Celebration ceremony, which was held in the Blue Lounge in the Student Center in early May. The ceremony honors both current employees who have reached milestone years of service and those who are retiring from their positions, as well as the recipients of the Campus Collaboration, Diversity and Inclusion, and Extraordinary Dedication awards.

The event celebrated the 18 faculty members and 14 staff members who are retiring or had retired from the university in 2015 and 2016, from a variety of departments and offices.

“All told, these employees have spent more than 800 years working for us on behalf of the students,” said President Barry Maloney, who presented the Employee Service awards. “These shoes will be hard to fill.”

The Employee Service Awards were given to those whose Worcester State career has spanned five years up to 50 years, recognizing the milestone years. Two hit the half-century mark: Bruce Cohen, associate professor in the History and Political Science Department, who has worked at Worcester State since 1965, and Helena Semerjian, associate professor in the Health Sciences Department, since 1966.

“Some of these individuals worked here during such historical events as end of Apartheid, the end of the Cold War, and even the price of gas being $3.52 a gallon,” said Assistant Vice President for Human Resources, Payroll Services and Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Stacey Luster, as master of ceremonies. “Things have gotten better since then, and so has Worcester State thanks to your dedication.”

The Employee Recognition Awards for Campus Collaboration, Diversity and Inclusion, and Extraordinary Dedication are given to recipients from their respective collective bargaining units, which include AFSCME, APA, MSCA, as well as those who are non-unit classified. The recipients for this year’s awards are as follows:

Campus Collaboration Award Recipient

  • Dr. Daniel Shartin (MSCA), Professor, Philosophy

Diversity and Inclusion Awards Recipients

  • Sandra Medina-Vazquez (AFSCME), Clerk IV, Intensive English Language Institute
  • Marcela Uribe-Jennings (APA), Assistant Dean, Multicultural Affairs
  • Dr. Lori Dawson (MSCA), Professor, Psychology

Extraordinary Dedication Award Recipients

  • Doreen Foley (AFSCME), Administrative Assistant II, Facilities
  • Johanie Rodriguez (Non-Unit Classified), Administrative Assistant I, Human Resources
  • Marcela Uribe-Jennings (APA), Assistant Dean, Multicultural Affairs
  • Kristen Nelson (APA), Associate Director, Residence Life and Housing
  • Dr. Ellen Fynan (MSCA), Professor, Biology
  • Dr. Joan Mahoney (MSCA) Professor, Business Administration and Economics

This event was sponsored by Human Resources, Payroll Services, and Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity, and was organized by the Employee Service Recognition & Retirement Celebration Planning Committee.

Leave a Comment

See for yourself what #woolife is all about.

The best way to learn about Worcester State University is to tour our beautiful campus. Be sure to let your student tour guide know your interests so they can personalize your tour.

See the tour schedule