applied learning filler graphic

Worcester State’s Chapter of Sigma Beta Delta Adds New Members

March 27, 2013
By: Worcester State University News

Twenty-three students were inducted into Sigma Beta Delta, International Honor Society in Business, Management and Administration on Tuesday, March 26.

Students, their friends and families, and the faculty were pleased to have had an opportunity to hear President Barry Maloney, Provost and Vice President Dr. Charles Cullum and Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences Charles Fox each bring congratulatory messages for the best and brightest of our students. Their presence and their messages were well received and created a feeling of pride for the students. For the families, it created a feeling of confidence that the University is in good hands and that the administrators and faculty really care about students.

Professor of Business Administration Laurie Dahlin read a brief history of the honor society. She introduced the inductees, who took the pledge to uphold the Principles of the Society. As each principle was read, a candle was lit and inductees formally pledged to uphold the principles of Sigma Beta Delta.  Newly enrolled members were then called to the front of the room where faculty gave them their certificates of their lifetime membership, a pin with the Sigma Beta Delta symbols, and their honor cords, to be worn whenever they wear their formal robes. To be invited to join Sigma Beta Delta, students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.5 and have completed the prerequisites and at least 12 credits in the business administration program.

The inductees were Brian G. Aguiar, Thomas A. Martin, Amanda A. Babb, Brett J. McHale, John D. Brodeur, Joseph J. Metcalfe, Dennis P. Brunnett, Tiffany L. Milotte, David G. Chaban, Kristin E. Morrison, Robert F. Finnegan, Victor M. Palencia, Matthew J. Fiorentino, Trevor J. Sansoucy, Benjamin J. Gemme, Nuntana Savanorke, Winnig Jiang, Steven D. Sousa, Dawn L. Lemovitz, Kyle C. Willand, Jacob J. Macomber, Minrong Zheng, Angela A. Maglione.

Katelyn Heerde ’10, past resident of the chapter and was one of 25 from the society’s international membership to attend its first Leadership Academy in San Diego, addressed the assembly. Heerde is now general manager of the Holiday Inn Express in Hudson.

Chapter officers were also elected at the event. They are President Amanda Babb, Vice President Tiffany Milotte, Secretary Dawn Lemovitz, and Treasurer Ben Gemme.

Submitted by Business Administration Professor Maureen Stefanini

Leave a Comment

See for yourself what #woolife is all about.

The best way to learn about Worcester State University is to tour our beautiful campus. Be sure to let your student tour guide know your interests so they can personalize your tour.

See the tour schedule