Nominate a professor for the Alden Excellence in Teaching Award

November 9, 2022
By: Deborah Alvarez O'Neil

Worcester State alumni, students and faculty are invited to nominate faculty members who have inspired, encouraged and supported them for the 2022 George I. Alden Excellence in Teaching Award.

The award honors the university’s history as a teachers’ college and recognizes that teaching is at the heart of the academic experience at Worcester State. The Center for Teaching and Learning created the Alden award to publicly acknowledge professors who have made a difference in students’ lives.

Students, alumni and faculty can nominate a full-time tenured or tenure track professor. No self-nominations are accepted. The deadline to submit a nomination is Dec. 15. Submit a nomination online here.

Two winners will be selected to receive $500 and a plaque. And, each year, the winners present the Alden Excellence in Teaching Award Lecture. The 2022 honorees, Hardeep Sidhu from the English Department, and Erika Briesacher, from the History and Political Science Department, will present their lecture on Jan. 27, 2023.

Here are the past Alden honorees:

2004: Guillermina Elissondo, World Languages
2005: Steven Oliver, Biology
2006: Ruth Haber, English
2007: Tuck Amory, Urban Studies
2008: Margaret Kerr, Chemistry
2009: Julie Frechette, Communications
2010: Mary Fowler, Mathematics and Eihab Jaber, Chemistry
2011: Allison Dunn, Earth, Environment, and Physics and Caitlin Stover, Nursing
2012: Steven Corey, Urban Studies and Stephanie Chalupka, Nursing
2013: Maria Fung, Mathematics and Karen Woods Weierman, English
2014: Stacey Parker, Visual and Performing Arts and Karl Wurst, Computer Science
2015: Tona Hangen, History/Political Science and Daron Barnard, Biology
2016: Hank Theriault, Philosophy and Jeremy Andreatta, Chemistry
2017: Heather Treseler, English and Joseph Quattrucci, Joseph Quattrucci
2018: Kimberly Silver Dunker, Nursing and Alex Briesacher, Sociology
2019: Syamak Moattari, Health Sciences and Timothy Murphy, Urban Studies
2020: Jennifer Hood-DeGrenier, Biology and Christina Santana, English
2021: Mary Fowler, Mathematics and Kathryn Frazier, Psychology
2022: Hardeep Sidhu, English and Erika Briesacher, History and Political Science

Leave a Comment

See for yourself what #woolife is all about.

The best way to learn about Worcester State University is to tour our beautiful campus. Be sure to let your student tour guide know your interests so they can personalize your tour.

See the tour schedule